Fuse ODG grabs three MOBO Awards nominations

Ghana’s Fuse ODG has been nominated in three categories for this year’s Music of Black Origin (MOBO) Awards.

An excited Fuse ODG took to twitter to share his joy after the full list of MOBO nominees was announced.

The good news for fans of the TINA founder comes closely on the heels of the announcement of his upcoming album which is set for a November 2, 2014 release.

Sarkodie has described the yet-to-be-released album as a complete album.

Fuse ODG has had a fantastic music year and has enjoyed overwhelming patronage globally. He’s expected to win big at the upcoming MOBO Awards.

However, soul singer Sam Smith and hip hop duo Krept and Konan are expected to be the biggest winners on the night after bagging nominations in four categories each.

Fuse ODG, Ghetts, Meridian Dan and Tinie Tempah are all up for three awards, while FKA Twigs is flying the flag for female artists with three nominations.

The awards ceremony will be held in London at the SSE Arena, Wembley on 22 October, after a five year hiatus.

Kany King, founder of the Mobos said: “As we enter our 19th year, the Mobo Awards show promises to be bigger and more audacious than ever. This year’s nominees represent an incredible crop of artists.

“I find it particularly exciting to see so many underground artists featured, who’ve reached new heights over the last year and broken into the wider consciousness. It’s testament to their talent and their determination to succeed and we are very proud to witness their successes to date. This year’s show at Wembley is set to be nothing short of spectacular.”

Fans can vote for their favourite artsist at mobo.com/voting

Here is the list of nominations in full:

MOBO Best Male Act
Fuse ODG
Krept & Konan
Sam Smith
Tinie Tempah

MOBO Best Female Act
FKA Twigs
Jessie J
Katy B
Marsha Ambrosius
Rita Ora

MOBO Best Newcomer
Ella Eyre
FKA Twigs
Jess Glynne
Little Simz
Melissa Steel
Meridian Dan
Raleigh Ritchie

MOBO Best International Act
Chris Brown
Iggy Azalea
J Cole
Jhene Aiko
Kendrick Lamar
Nicki Minaj
Trey Songz

MOBO Best Song
Ed Sheeran ft. Pharrell, “Sing”
Fuse ODG ft. Sean Paul, “Dangerous Love”
Krept & Konan, “Don’t Waste My Time”
Meridian Dan ft. Big H & JME, “German Whip”
Sam Smith, “Stay With Me”

MOBO Best Video
FKA Twigs, “Two Weeks”
Jacob Banks, “Move With You”
Rudimental ft. Becky Hill, “Powerless”
Scorcher ft. Wretch 32, Mercston & Ari, “Work Get It”
Skepta ft. JME, “That’s Not Me”

MOBO Best Album
Ghetts, Rebel With A Cause
Katy B, Little Red
Krept & Konan, Young Kingz
Sam Smith, In The Lonely Hour
Tinie Tempah, Demonstration

MOBO Best Gospel Act
Annastasia Baker
J. Vessel
Kristyna Myles
Living Faith Connection Choir
Noel Robinson

MOBO Best Reggae Act
Stylo G
Tarrus Riley

MOBO Best Jazz Act
Andreas Varady
Jason Rebello
Peter Edwards
Zara McFarlane

MOBO Best Hip Hop Act
Krept & Konan
Professor Green
Tinie Tempah

MOBO Best African Act
Afrikan Boy
DJ Clock
Dr Sid
Fuse ODG
Mista Silva
Tiwa Savage
Wiz Kid
Yemi Alade

MOBO Best Grime Act
Big Narstie
Lethal Bizzle
Meridian Dan

MOBO Best R&B / Soul Act
Jessie Ware
Marsha Ambrosius
Sam Smith

By: Kojo Akoto Boateng/citifmonline.com/Ghana


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password